Home Finance Zenith Bank emerges Bank of the year in Nigeria in Banker awards 2022

Zenith Bank emerges Bank of the year in Nigeria in Banker awards 2022

by Business News Report

Zenith Bank Plc has emerged as Bank of the Year in Nigeria in The Banker’s Bank of the Year Awards 2022. The award, which was announced by The Banker Magazine, Financial Times Group, United Kingdom, during the awards ceremony held in London on December 1, 2022, was in recognition of Zenith Bank’s strong management, sound business model and strategy, support for small businesses and efforts to cut energy consumption. According to the Banker, Nigeria’s Bank of the Year award was among the continent’s most hotly contested this year, befitting the country’s status as Africa’s largest economy. This is coming on the heels of the award as Number One Bank in Nigeria by Tier-1 Capital by The Banker won by Zenith Bank earlier in the year.

Commenting on the award, the Group Managing Director/CEO of Zenith Bank Plc, Ebenezer Onyeagwu, said: “winning the Bank of the Year attests to our tenacity as an institution despite a very challenging operating environment exacerbated by persistent macroeconomic headwinds. Indeed, being recognised by The Banker – the world’s longest running international banking title, is an acknowledgement of the resilience of the Zenith brand as the leading financial institution in Nigeria and the West African sub-region.” He lauded the Founder and Chairman, Jim Ovia, CFR, for his guidiance and pioneering role in laying the foundation and building the structures for an enduring and successful institution, the Board for their outstanding leadership, the staff for their commitment and dedication as well as the Bank’s customers for their unflinching loyalty to the Zenith brand over the years. 

Regarded as the industry standard for banking excellence, The Banker’s Bank of the Year award is contested by the world’s leading financial institutions, with winners chosen across Africa, Asia-Pacific, Central & Eastern Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, North America and Western Europe.

Full Details of winners in Africa


Angola: Banco de Fomento Angola

Benin: Ecobank Benin

Botswana:  Bank Gaborone  

Burkina Faso: UBA Burkina Faso

Cameroon: Société Générale

Cape Verde: Banco Interatlântico

Chad: UBA Chad

Comoros: Exim Bank Comores

Cote d’Ivoire: Ecobank Cote d’Ivoire

Djibouti: CAC International Bank

Democratic Republic of Congo: Rawbank

Egypt:  Ahli Unitied Bank Egypt

Equatorial Guinea: Banco Nacional de Guinea Ecuatorial

Ethiopia: Dashen Bank

Gabon: Orabank Gabon

Ghana: Fidelity Bank

Guinea: UBA Guinea

Guinea-Bissau: Orabank Guinea-Bissau

Kenya: Equity Bank Kenya

Liberia: UBA Liberia

Madagascar:  Société Générale

Malawi: Standard Bank Malawi

Mali: Ecobank Mali

Mauritius: MCB

Morocco: Attijariwafa Bank

Mozambique: Millennium bim

Namibia: First National Bank Namibia

Nigeria: Zenith Bank

Senegal: Orabank Senegal

Sierra Leone: UBA Sierra Leone

South Africa: Standard Bank

Tanzania: Stanbic Tanzania

Togo: Ecobank

Tunisia: Société Générale

Uganda: Equity Bank Uganda

Zambia: UBA Zambia

Related Posts