Home Finance ICPC prosecutes 73 persons alleged to be involved in criminal cases, four local government chairmen included

ICPC prosecutes 73 persons alleged to be involved in criminal cases, four local government chairmen included

by Business News Report

By Omoh Gabriel
The Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission yesterday disclosed that it has so far charged 34 criminal cases to court involving 73 persons including the chairmen of four local government councils across the country. Making the disclosure yesterday at the one day Project Edge Ethics Leadership Retreat 2005 held at Airport Hotel Ikeja, Mr. Akeem Lawal a legal officer of ICPC said that from 2000 to date the ICPC received a total of 1,270 petitions out of which, 608 were referred to the investigation department.
Giving a status report of the cases Mr. Lawal said that 24 of the cases has been charged to court, 64 have been referred to the prosecution department, 8 have been fully investigated but are yet to be referred to the prosecution, while 60 cases are currently under going investigation and 194 others are at strategic stage.
According to him 125 of the cases were refused for lack of jurisdiction. He further said that 133 others are yet to be investigated.
According to ICPC brief report on its activities “The commission has so far charged 34 criminal cases to court involving 73 people. The details are as follows:

S/No. Charge Number Details: Fed. Republic of Nigeria vs
1.CR/1/2001 Alhaji Mika Anache & 2 Ors.
2.CR/2/2001 Mr. Andrew Tyem & 3 Ors.
3.K/ANTI C/CR.1/2001 Alhaji Ismaila Santali Tsakuwa
4.HAB/ICPC/1/2001 Mr. Prince Okoro & 1 Ors
5.KN/ANTI/CR.3/2002 Hon. Justice Garba Abdullahi
6.AK/ICPC/1/2002 Chief Alfred Bamidele Ogedengbe & 1 Ors
7.LCD/39/2002 John Enobong
8.KG/ICPC/1/2002 Hon. Emmanuel Egwaba
9.CR/1/02 Caleb Ojo & 1 Ors.
10.FCT/HC/AC/1/2002 Gbenga Michael Faleye & 1 Ors.
11.CR/2/2002 Dr. Demiloye Akerejola & 1 Ors
12.H.O.W/ICPC/1/2002 Chief Evan Anaele & 4 Ors
13.PHC/ICPC/1/2002 Raphel Muzan Akpelu
14.ID/249C/2002 Chief Arah & 3 Ors
15.MHC/6C/03 Mrs. Elizabeth Nguumbur Shuluwa
16.MHC/5C/2003 Terhemba Shija
17.PLD/JICR/CPO/2003 Dr. Nathaniel Shidali & 2 Ors
18.HAB/ICPC/IC2003 Hon. Iduma Igariwey & 1Ors.
19.KDH/KAD/2/ICPC/03 Joshua B. Waziri & 1 Ors
20.KDH/KAD/1/ICPC/03 Prof. Alhassan Mela Yabubu & 2 Ors.
21.B/ICPC/1/2003 Prof. Austine Obasohan & 3 Ors.
22.KDH/KAD/3/ICPC/03 Alh. Aliyu Saleh Ramin Kura & 2 Ors
23.B/ICPC/2/2003 Dr. Mustapha Mohammed Nadoma
24.CR/1/2003 Mohammed Ali Balogun
25.CR/7/2003 Ubgwu Simon & 1 Ors
26.CR/8/2003 Akingbola Johnson
27.CR/9/2003 Adeniyi Ojongbede
28.KG/ICPC/1/2004 Peter Zakari Akpa
29.HAB/ICPC/1C/2004 Sunday Adol Awam & 2 Ors.
30.NSHC/1/ICPC/IC/2004 Jonathan Garba
31.KWS/ICPC/04 Mohammed Madugu Haliru
32.CR/19/2004 Mohammed Shata
33.CR/20/2004 Niji Adelagun
34.CR/2/2004 Alh. Hussaini Zaunuwa Akwanga & 2 Ors”.
According to the report “ICPC has established Anti-corruption and Transparency Units (ACTUs) in 92 government ministries, agencies and parastatals. These units act as the vanguard of transparency in their respective organisations. They have the responsibility of receiving petitions and complaints, conducting preliminary investigations, referring such matters to the ICPC, conducting preliminary study of their operational systems, recommending corrective measures, educating and enlightening members of their parent organisations on the ills of corruption”.

Related Posts