Home Agriculture Edo govt inaugurates c’ttee to ease access to land for smallholder farmers

Edo govt inaugurates c’ttee to ease access to land for smallholder farmers

by Business News Report

To address issues of lack of access to land among smallholder farmers in the state, the Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has inaugurated a 13-member committee to finetune policies and programmes relating to land management especially as it relates to agricultural development. The governor, who was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Mr Peter Aikhuomobhogbe, reiterated the state’s government’s commitment to become an agricultural hub in Nigeria through various agricultural development policies and programmes. He charged the committee members to work assiduously towards ensuring that the state government’s Making Edo Great Again (MEGA) agenda is actualised.

According to him, “The formation of this committee is very apt because of the developmental agenda of this administration. I have so much confidence in this committee, going by the array of professionals put together to pursue this mandate.” In his remarks, Chuks Ofulue, the representative of Partnership Initiatives in the Niger Delta (PIND) who works closely with the state government to ensure that the committee functions optimally said that research has revealed that apart from finance, smallholder farmers also face the challenge of land availability. “We often partner with the government to put aside any thing that will clog the wheel of development. We also want to ensure that smallholder farmers have a voice,” he said.

Managing Director, Edo State Investment Promotion Office (ESIPO), Mr Kelvin Uwaibi, who is the Chairman of the committee, assured that the committee members would bring their wealth of experience to bear to ensure that smallholder farmers in the state gain access to arable lands.

“We need to find solutions to the issue of land in the state. Edo State should be known as a friendly state with respect to investments. We will work with the terms of reference to achieve the purpose for this committee.” In his contribution, Chief Amadin Osayande, the Deputy Chairman, All Farmers Association of Nigeria (AFAN) said that for the committee to succeed, it must work closely with the government, the local community and individuals who are known legal land owners in the locality. Members of the committee include Kelvin Uwaibi, Ramson Aibie, Chief Amadin Osayande, Churchill Oboh, Curtis Ogbebor, Abusomwan Kingsley. Others are His Royal Highness D. E Igiehon; Dr Peter Osaiede; Vincent Ohwongiakpo, and Mr Henry Enabulele, among others.

Related Posts